Azure Greg NewsLetter v10.0

Episode 10 - Big News Inside!!

This is the 10th edition of my weekly newsletter - thank you for reading.

This week's newsletter won't cover any content I heard about at last week's MVP Summit other than the experience itself, it's all under NDA so I won't be going there.

MVP Summit 2023

Last week I stayed in Bellevue, Seattle which is a lovely place, the week started off by spending the weekend meeting up with friends and partaking in a Sherry or 3. Sunday we went sightseeing and did the touristy things with a bunch of friends who were visiting for the first time, we did Pike Market, the gum wall, the Space Needle and the monorail, etc, good to just walk around and get some miles in the old legs.

It wasn't my first time in Seattle but it was my first time at an in-person MVP Summit and my first time at the Microsoft Campus in Redmond, it's fair to say I was excited.

The week started with grabbing my MVP badge and then meeting up with some folks who flew in on Saturday. Meeting people I have spoken too on Twitter for years is always great fun, I met a number of people I had always wanted to meet, many flying in from all over the world.

One of the week's highlights was touring the Microsoft campus, seeing the buildings where the products are built and worked on, using the shuttles between buildings (the campus itself is vast), and of course getting my picture taken next to the Microsoft sign outside building 92.

I came home last week to find out I had won the Digital Revolution Awards Outstanding Contribution to the Microsoft Community Award - wow!!! never won anything before so this is pretty special. The award trophy is in the post so keep an eye out for that coming to socials very soon.

Outstanding Contribution to the Microsoft Community

Part 3 of the Azure AZ-900 Azure Fundamentals course was this past Monday and I'll edit this along with Part 2 in the coming week or so. The final part, Part 4 will be on Tuesday 2nd May and this will conclude our AZ-900 Series, slides and videos will all be available soon after.

We have 3 videos for Section 1 - Describe cloud concepts, and this section covers 25–30% of the actual AZ-900 exam. In the coming 2 weeks I'll have the second part up on YouTube also, just need to do some editing first.

Check out the current playlist below:-

Next week on May 2nd we wrap the course up with Part 4 which is titled 'Describe Azure management and governance' - (30–35%) of the exam content. The link for this is below:

Learn the Fundamentals of Azure Az-900

This week at work I have been working on reducing cost for customers within their Azure environment and also writing Bicep for customers.

I've also been writing a lot of Bicep of late and have been helping on an AVD project using Bicep, I promise the blog post will get finished.

  • How generative AI is changing the way developers work - https://github.blog/2023-04-14-how-generative-ai-is-changing-the-way-developers-work/

  • Public preview: Session affinity for Azure Container Apps - https://aka.ms/containerapps/session-affinity

  • Microsoft Security Co-Pilot - https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/security/business/ai-machine-learning/microsoft-security-copilot

  • Introduction to Azure Arc-enabled data services - https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/training/modules/intro-to-arc-enabled-data-services/

  • Share Bicep modules by using private registries - https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/training/modules/share-bicep-modules-using-private-registries/

View my LinkedIn Learning Courses on Azure Data Fundamentals:

Career Tips and Advice

  • Work hard but enjoy it, if you can't enjoy it day to day then it's time for a change.

  • Give back your time to help others get to where they want to be.

I flew business class to Seattle from Dublin, paid it myself as a treat, and was worth every penny to do just one time. Still struggling with jetlag if I'm honest but I look forward to next year's MVP Summit (if I manage to remain an MVP of course).

Myself, @MattOffPrem, and @MrKeithAtherton are launching a new podcast within the next month or 2 - more on that as we get closer to launch - sneek preview @ https://onairinthecloud.com

FOLLOW ME 👉

Stay safe, this is the way. I am looking for suggestions for thumbnail pics for each weekly newsletter, and suggestions via Twitter @gregor_suttie.

Join the conversation

or to participate.