Azure Greg NewsLetter v9.0

Episode 9 - MVP Edition

This is the 9th edition of my weekly newsletter so thank you for reading.

It's my Dad's birthday today so Happy Birthday to him, the legend.

I made my first royalties this month on my LinkedIn Learning course, so that's a nice little milestone - I'll also be doing more courses soon. Also hit 250 subscribers to my newsletter so thanks all - appreciate it no end!

This week I have been looking forward to returning to Seattle, this time for my very first MVP Summit, I have been an MVP for 4 years now, and due to Covid, this is my very first in-person MVP Summit. Need to get some pics in front of the Microsoft sign etc, looking forward to meeting friends for the first time!Being an MVP has been a fantastic journey and if you've ever thought about becoming an MVP, I would highly recommend you look into it, being able to talk to and give direct feedback to product groups at Microsoft is one of my favorite benefits.

Part 1 of the Azure AZ-900 Azure Fundamentals course is now live up on YouTube and you can find the playlist here, over 600 views in 4 days, I can't argue with that.

We have 3 videos for Section 1 - Describe cloud concepts, and this section covers 25–30% of the actual AZ-900 exam. In the coming 2 weeks I'll have the second part up on YouTube also, just need to do some editing first.Part 3 takes place on Monday 24th of April at 7:00 PM GMT, and we will wrap up our course hopefully the week after that.

This week at work I was working on many different Azure-based projects again and learned about Azure SQL Elastic jobs which are in preview, a customer had been using them and I didn't even know this was a thing until the other day. Also been doing environment and cost scans for customers and am always amazed at how people either don't know about Azure Advisor or just forget to check it.

I've also been writing a lot of Bicep of late and have been helping on an AVD project using Bicep, I promise the blog post will get finished before the next edition of this newsletter.

  • Build an #ASPNET Core web app and deploying it to #Azure - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFv48I1s-_g

  • New release of Azure Data Studio - https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/sql-server-blog/announcing-azure-data-studio-1-43/ba-p/3794138

  • Visual Studio 2022 version 17.5.4 has been released! - https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/visualstudio/releases/2022/release-notes

  • Take a look at https://azurediagrams.com to create simple architectural diagrams using Azure Data Platform service - https://azurediagrams.com/

View my LinkedIn Learning Courses on Azure Data Fundamentals:

Career Tips and Advice

  • Trial and error is a great way to learn, but if you don't start then you'll never learn from your mistakes.

  • People network as much as you can as often as you can, get those LinkedIn numbers and Twitter following numbers up, trust me you'd rather go someplace and know people, than not know anyone.

I'll try my best not to get too excited, flying business class to Seattle though so starting MVP week off in style - you only live once right?

I best go pack - have a fantastic weekend.

Myself, @MattOffPrem, and @MrKeithAtherton are launching a new podcast within the next month or 2 - more on that as we get closer to launch - sneek preview @ https://onairinthecloud.com

FOLLOW ME 👉

Stay safe, this is the way. I am looking for suggestions for thumbnail pics for each weekly newsletter, and suggestions via Twitter @gregor_suttie.

Join the conversation

or to participate.